PS3… a Sure Wallet-Burner

A picture showing both the original model desi...

My PS3: 12 months of hard work(?)

It started out with the NES, when I got mesmerized playing Super Mario 3 along with my uncles who was still adjusting on their early 20’s back then. Up to now it is still the game I would never get tired of playing.

And then the next generation of consoles came in. I wasnt able to catch up with the trend. What the heck?! Who was I that time. I am just a kid with a fixed (not) allowance. So I just had to watch in envy as other kids enjoy their ps-ones, ps2’s, dreamcast, and every console that has passed by.

More than 2 decades and 3 decent jobs have passed and here I am, ready to fulfill my “childhood” dreams (I should be pitied by having a very shallow aspiration). The idea of me buying my own console didnt cross me until I first received my leave conversion.

Just to give you an idea, I work at a call center (just like every grad and under-grad in the Philippines). And for some reason, I find their policy regarding VL and SL to be sweet. It’s simple. Dont take any leave for the whole year, the excess of 80 hours at the beginning of the new year will be converted to your current rate. To cut it short, I received a HUGE amount which made me buy a Wii.

The Wii is for kids. It’s fun, but most of the games are crappy. I would really need to have something which is hardcore. Something which I would really enjoy. Something like… the PS3!!! But I have to wait another year before I can buy one. I just dont have the patience to save for one nor do I have a credit card to use just to buy one. Shades of being kuripot.

So finally on February 2010, I had the chance to buy my Ps3. Along with it are 2 games (Uncharted 2 and God of War Collection). My total bill? Almost 20k. Geez! And each game? Would cost you at most 3k. And we are not stopping there. Some games have downloadable content. Just when you though you have finished, there are patches and expansions, which costs you so much more.

What’s sad is that the PS3 cannot be hacked. So all of my games are original. Great. Look, I’m not complaining. I enjoy playing my games and I still continuing to buy new games for the PS3. I’m just surprised I would shell out a hell lot of money for a few hours of beautiful graphics and… oh shoot! Forgot to mention. You need to have an HDTV. Good thing my sister was able to buy us with one.

No wonder I said I wont get tired of playing Super Mario Bros. 3. Makes me want to buy a vintage NES and just play that. Just that. Anyway, I’m still a gamer, and video game developers will have better titles to offer in the future. In the end, I will just say “Fuck the price, I’ll still play it!”.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

